Why Merge Courses?
- If you teach multiple sections of the same course and want to manage them all together, this is for you.
- If you like the idea of sending instructions, deploying tests, or posting content one time instead of the same thing multiple times, this is for you.
In Canvas, each “course” contains a “section” of student enrollments. We simply move sections of enrollments from one course umbrella to another, leaving behind an empty course and adding people to one of the existing courses. Please keep in mind that this means some of your sections will “vanish” from your Canvas Dashboard and Courses list! They are now part of the “base” section.
Why Does This Matter?
If you have already built content in one of the courses, ask us to move the other course sections into that one so you do not have to copy and reset content.
Merging should be done while courses are unpublished before the term begins or at the very beginning of the term. Coursework is retained with the course, not with the section enrollments, so if a published course is merged, all merged enrollments will lose any associated assignment submissions and grades.
Submit Your Request:
The following form is used to request that two or more sections of the same course, taught by the same instructor within the same semester, be merged into a single course shell. If you are co-teaching and need to merge courses taught by different instructors, please indicate it clearly in the form.
This form requires accurate course IDs for each section you wish to combine. For example, Spring2020T-PT-610-01.