Nick Terry

Dr. Nicholas Terry, Director of Percussion Studies

Chapman University Director of Percussion Studies Nick Terry is the founding member of L.A. Percussion Quartet (LAPQ), and since the release of their 2017 album Beyond the group has enjoyed a busy schedule of performances and airplay.

The album features songs by female composers Ellen Reid (Fear-Release), the 2019 Pulitzer Prize winner in music, and Anna Thorvaldsdottir (Aura), 2015 winner of the New York Philharmonic’s Kravis Emerging Composer award whose commissioned work Metacosmos was premiered under conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen in April 2018.

New York public radio station WNYC recently featured LAPQ’s recording of Reid’s piece (listen here; begin 27:42), and NPR Music broadcast LAPQ’s video performance of Thorvaldsdottir’s Aura, which can be seen here.

To hear all tracks from LAPQ’s Beyond album, visit their website,