Image result for college television awards

Submissions for the 40th College Television Awards are now open!

The project does not have to be specifically made for TV in order to be eligable. For submissions made into Drama Series, Comedy Series, Animation Series, Nonfiction or Reality Series, Variety and Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability you will be asked to imagine your program as an episode in a series and write short synopses of two additional episodes that are required and will be reviewed as part of your submission. NOTE: These two “imagined” episodes need not be produced, nor intended to be produced. The judges want to see where you would take your story.

For more information on the Official Rules please see the CTA website.

Entry deadline is October 3rd. Nominations will be announced on December 11th. For more information on the categories of submission please see the CTA website.

Last year Dodge College had 3 nominees (2 in the Drama Series Category, 1 in the Comedy Series Category). Eventually ESTA ES TU CUBA (directed by Brian Robau) took home the award in the Drama Series Category.

Best of luck!

The College Television Awards recognize excellence in student production. The first College Television Awards ceremony was held at the Directors Guild on October 25, 1979, where six awards were provided in two categories — the Eric Sevareid Information Program and Rod Serling Entertainment Program. Since then, the program has grown to a nationwide competition that recognizes students working across program genres in multiple categories. Now, the College Television Awards include donor-supported categories such as the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award and the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Award. These awards continue to spotlight talented storytellers interested in specialized fields in entertainment.

In addition to showcasing student production, the College Television Awards is an entry point for a career in television and media. Past winners have worked as editors, writers, producers and other positions on programs including Ray DonovanUnbreakable Kimmy SchmidtMad MenParks & Recreation60 MinutesGrey’s AnatomyEmpire and many more. There are over 600 College Television Award alumni, all of whom have access to networking opportunities and events.

College Television Award Nominees travel to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony, meet with industry professionals and take part in inspiring and practical workshops. Travel and hotel will be provided to one member of each producing team (producer, writer, or director).