You’re invited to join NewFilmmakers Los Angeles (NFMLA) and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) with presenting partners the Consulate General of Israel in Los Angeles and the Office of Cultural Affairs, Consulate General of Israel in New York for a virtual InFocus: Israeli Cinema program on January 11th and 14th, 2021.

The event will feature a streaming presentation of Ruthy Pribar’s debut feature Asia, the Israeli entry for the 93rd Oscars® International Feature Film category. The film tells the story of a mother-daughter relationship set amidst a teenage girl’s deteriorating health, as the two navigate a changing landscape of autonomy and dependence. The film stars Alena Yiv and Primetime Emmy nominee Shira Haas (Unorthodox) and premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival earlier this year, where it won multiple awards.

InFocus: Israeli Cinema Shorts will feature top Israeli shorts currently on the festival circuit, including winners and alumni of Cannes, Tribeca, SXSW, Palm Springs ShortFest and the Jerusalem Film Festival, as well as films eligible for the 93rd Oscars® Live Action Short Film category. These movies explore identity and one’s place in the world, taking us into the perspectives of a Russian girl on a birthright trip to Israel, a man whose humanity is tested by a stolen bicycle, an insecure high school internet troll hiding behind a screen, a wounded soldier under a national spotlight, and a single mother who weighs the cost of a better life for her and her daughter.

InFocus: Israeli Cinema will host audience Q&A sessions with the directors of participating films, alongside panels with top Israeli creatives Alma Har’el (Honey Boy), Ron Leshem (Euphoria and Oscar® nominated Beaufort) and others. Moderators will include the likes of Jacqueline Coley (Rotten Tomatoes), Malina Saval (Variety) and Itay Hod (Spectrum News).

In addition to public events, the festival program also curated a special line-up of accomplished Israeli producers, who will be presenting their slates to Industry Delegation Members including Allie Moore at AMC Studios, Maia Hollinger at HBO, John Orlando at Universal, Axel Caballero at Warner Media 150, Tom Pojunas at HBO, Todd Brown at XYZ Films, Sandra Condito at Sony Pictures Entertainment, Brian Harvey at Amazon Studios, Ryan Bernstein at Endeavor Content, Austin Bowman at AGBO, Jared Ian Goldman (ABC / MARVEL’s The Punisher and Oscar® nominated Loving) and Shannon McIntosh (Quentin Tarantino’s Oscar® winning Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood and The Hateful Eight).

For complimentary passes and a full schedule, please click the graphic above or visit: