A dean whose diligent pursuit of a transformational grant that will create state-of-the-art chemistry labs on campus is the newest member of the Million Dollar Club, a distinction awarded by Chapman University’s Office of Research and Sponsored Programs.

Janeen Hill, Ph.D., dean of Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences and a professor in the Department of Health Sciences, was instrumental in securing a $1 million grant from the W.M. Keck Foundation that will help equip the chemistry labs in the planned Center for Science and Technology.

The honor was announced at the annual Faculty Research Recognition Reception held Thursday, May 7. The reception honors faculty who have sought and received external support for their work, as well as those who have demonstrated exceptional scholarship and creative activity in their fields. Members of the Million Dollar Club are faculty who have brought in one million dollars in external funding while at Chapman.

Honorees included:

Faculty-Student Research

    • Julia Boehm, Ph.D., assistant professor, Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences
    • Justin Walsh, Ph.D., Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Global and Community Engagement

    • Mark Axelrod, Ph.D., and Jan Osborn, Ph.D., Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Distinguished Research, Scholarship & Creative Activity

    • Frank Frisch, Ph.D., professor, and director of the Kinesiology program in the College of Educational Studies, as well as Professor of Biological Sciences in the Schmid College of Science and Technology
    • Surya Nauli, Ph.D., School of Pharmacy

Young Investigator

    • Kris De Pedro, Ph.D., assistant professor in the College of Educational Studies
    • Miao Zhang, Ph.D., assistant professor, School of Pharmacy

(Pictured at top (from left) are Mark Axelrod, Julia Boehm, Judy Montgomery (accepting for Kris De Pedro), Miao Zhang, Janeen Hill, Frank Frisch, Justin Walsh and Chancellor Danielle Struppa.)