Nancy Alvarez
, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, Assistant Dean, Experiential Education and Continuing Professional Development for Chapman University’s
School of Pharmacy
(CUSP) will begin her one-year term as the American Pharmacist’s Association (APhA) 162
president when she is officially inducted into the office on March 27, at the  2017 APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Francisco.  Dr. Alvarez is completing her term serving as the 2016-2017 president-elect of the association, the largest professional society of Pharmacists in the world.  Another CUSP professor, Dr.
Lawrence “LB” Brown
, the association’s 160
president, concludes his service as the immediate past president at this same meeting.

“It is unprecedented that a School of Pharmacy, especially a new one, would have two of the profession’s top leaders on their faculty in such a short period,” said
Ron Jordan
R.Ph. FAPhA, founding dean of Chapman’s School of Pharmacy. “The vision and experience of these leaders is an invaluable asset of our young school and we are grateful to have their dedicated work on forming our programs. The profession is also indebted to them for their service and years of dedication.  Nancy has one of the most difficult jobs here at CUSP and she has performed it masterfully. Our experiential education suite of offerings has met the accreditation mark and is growing in quality and breadth.”

Dr. Nancy Alvarez


APhA Board Photos 2013

Dr. Nancy A. Alvarez is the Assistant Dean, Experiential Education and Continuing Professional Development and Assistant Professor for Pharmacy Practice where she is responsible for leading experiential education initiatives for the school of pharmacy which include designing experiential curriculum, identifying experiential sites and supporting experiential educators who engage with the school of pharmacy to deliver practical pharmacy education and facilitate student pharmacists learning.

Her teaching interests are pain medicine and advocacy for appropriate use of opioids, including opioid conversion; medical communications in the pharmaceutical industry and appropriate dissemination of off-label information and risk information; leader development, personal assessment and communication, leadership and professional advocacy; cultural competency and diversity.

To view a 2-minute video featuring Dr. Alvarez on the announcement, click here:

Prior to joining the CUSP team, Dr. Alvarez was Sr. Director, Medical Information in the Clinical Development and Medical Sciences Department at Endo Health Solutions for 12 years. She maintained a community pharmacy practice and a hospice/palliative care practice at other points in her career. Dr. Alvarez earned a PharmD degree from The University of Arizona in 1992 and is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist

Dr. Alvarez has a long service record with the American Pharmacists Association, ranging from a student national officer, two-term Board of Trustees member and current President-elect. She endowed an APhA Foundation Student Pharmacist Scholarship in 2013. She participates in leader development as a co-director for the California Pharmacists Association (CPhA) Leader Development Institute entering its fifth year of working with CPhA pharmacists interested in enhancing their skills. She is a member of the California Pharmacists Association. She is a former Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute Board member, Phi Lambda Sigma National President, Phi Delta Chi Grand Vice President for Collegiate Affairs and Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Certification Council member and chair.

American Pharmacists Association
, founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association, is a 501 (c)(6) organization, representing more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others interested in advancing the profession. APhA, dedicated to helping all pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care, is the first-established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States.