The Student Academy Awards have announced their semi-finalists, which include four films produced by Dodge students.

In 1972 The Academy established the Student Academy Awards “to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.” Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 62 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 11 awards. Past winners include Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Patricia Riggen, Cary Fukunaga, Patricia Cardoso and Spike Lee. In total, four student films from Dodge College have won a Student Academy Award.

This year 1,615 films were submitted for consideration, but only 81 were named semi-finalists, placing these films in the top five percent of submissions.

The following films have made it to the semi-final stage:

  • Two Paper Nightingales,” a senior thesis film by Kaylin George (BFA/FP ’19)
  • That Was Ray,” a Community Voices project by Brenten Brandenburg (BFA/FP ’19), Jordan Gorman (BFA/FP ’19), Kaustubh Singh (BFA/NWD ’19) and To “Derek” Wan (MFA/DOC ’19)
  • Relentless,” a senior documentary thesis film by Shelby Thompson (BFA/NWD ’19)
  • Xinyan: One Child Left Behind” a graduate documentary thesis by Yang Sea Liu (MFA/DOC ’19)

Congratulations to all four student films! To track more exciting activity by Dodge students in the film festival circuit, check out Dodge College’s Film Festival Updates.

Finalists will be announced by mid-August. This year’s awards take place on October 17, 2019 at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Featured image: still from “Two Paper Nightingales”