Dodge College has hundreds of incredibly successful alumni working in the professional world, but it’s always nice when certain outstanding folk are recognized at the national level, as happened in last week’s Emmy nominations.  Click here to get the scoop on our renowned grads!

(Update: We just received word that a fourth alumnus was named as well!  See below for the updated list.)

While the actual winners won’t be announced until after school begins in September, we’re thrilled to see some familiar names on the recent list of Primetime Emmy Awards.

The Primetime Emmy® Awards celebrate excellence in national primetime programming, awarding top honors at the annual creative arts and primetime awards ceremonies. Special honors, like the Governors Award and the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award, are bestowed during the Primetime Emmys.

At the 64th Emmy Nominations ceremony, three four (!) former Dodge College students were recognized for outstanding achievements in the television industry.  Congratulations are in order to Darrn Bunkley (BFA/Film Prod. ’98), Kent Bassett (MFA /Film Prod. ’08), Laura Jones (BFA/Film Prod. ’08), and Sharaf Mowjood (BFA/ FTV ’01)!  (Here’s the complete list)

  • Darren Bunkley (BFA/Film Prod. ’98) was nominated in the Outstanding Reality – Competition Program category for The Amazing Race.  Bunkley is a supervising producer on the show and was nominated for his work on the producing team.
  • Kent Bassett (MFA/FP ’08) was nominated in the Outstanding Picture Editing For Reality Programming category for his work as part of the editing team on Top Chef.
  • Laura Jones (BFA/Film Prod. ’08) in the Outstanding Special Visual Effects category for Once Upon a Time.  Jones is a visual effects producer for the show.
  • Sharaf Mowjood (BFA/FTV’01) is an assistant producer for NBC News, and was nominated for his work on the short documentary The Price of Gold: “I Don’t Care if I Die”

Who will you be watching for when the Awards Ceremony is broadcast on September 23?