Chapman University’s Dodge College of Film and Media Arts, recognized as one of the premier film schools in the United States, announced today that two-time Academy Award® nominated producer Richard Gladstein (The Hateful Eight, Pulp Fiction, The Bourne Identity) has been named the Spring 2017 Marion Knott Filmmaker-in-Residence while acclaimed VFX producer Joyce Cox (Titanic, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, The Dark Knight) has been named spring 2017 Pankey Chair for the film school.

Every semester, Dodge College hosts expert filmmakers to meet with and counsel 20 selected scholars, as part of its Filmmaker-in-Residence and Pankey Chair programs. The popular programs include regular, bi-weekly meetings with the filmmaker in a one-on-one setting where the student and mentor have the opportunity to creatively develop a specific project throughout the semester. In addition, the filmmakers interact with the larger Dodge College community at weekly dinners open to students and screenings of the filmmaker’s films followed by an in-class Q & A led by professor and producer Alex Rose (The Other Sister, Overboard, Norma Rae) for Gladstein and by professor and animator/visual effects artist Bill Kroyer (FernGully: The Last Rainforest, TRON) for Cox.

Joyce Cox began her career producing live action and post-production for commercial advertising.  She moved into feature films in the mid 90’s as the visual effects industry began its rapid evolution into its present role as a creative and technical cornerstone for filmmaking.  Initially she produced visual effects within digital facilities, most notably VIFX and Rhythm & Hues, working on Titanic, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone, Fantasia 2000 and How the Grinch Stole Christmas. The facility producing gave Cox the underlying knowledge she brought to the challenging role of visual effects producer on X-Men 2, Superman Returns, The Dark Knight, Avatar, Men in Black III, The Great Gatsby and most recently Jon Favreau’s The Jungle Book.

Richard Gladstein is the founder and president of the Los Angeles-based motion picture production company FilmColony and most recently produced writer/director Quentin Tarantino’s 70mm post-Civil War western The Hateful Eight starring Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason-Leigh, Walt Goggins, Demian Bichir, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Bruce Dern and Channing Tatum. Gladstein’s two Academy Award® nominations for Best Picture of the Year were for his films The Cider House Rules and Finding Neverland. His other producer credits include The Time Being (which he co-wrote), Expecting, Paper Man, Killshot, Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium, The Nanny Diaries, The Bourne Identity, She’s All That, HurlyBurly, The Crossing Guard and 54, among others. In addition, Gladstein has enjoyed a fruitful and extensive collaboration with Quentin Tarantino, serving as executive producer of his first three films; Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown.

Gladstein’s films, as either producer or executive producer have received 24 Academy Award® nominations and theatrical gross receipts in excess of US$ 1 billion.

Prior to the formation of FilmColony, Gladstein was Miramax Films’ executive vice president/head of production supervising the company’s development and production activities and staff and vice president of production and acquisitions at LIVE Entertainment, the home-video division of Carolco Pictures.

Outside of the film business, Gladstein is deeply involved and committed to philanthropic medical and scientific endeavors to greatly reduce the prevalence of Jewish genetic diseases through education, awareness and medical research. He is co-chair of the Jewish Genetic Disease Consortium and founder and president of the Bloom’s Syndrome Foundation.

Gladstein serves on the national board of directors of The Producers Guild of America.

Past Filmmakers-in-Residence at Chapman have included Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences President Cheryl Boone Isaacs; Rob Cohen, the renowned filmmaker behind such blockbuster hits as The Fast and the Furious, The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor and xXx; Academy Award®-winning producer Cathy Schulman (Crash, The Illusionist, Salvation Boulevard); Academy Award®-nominated producer JoAnne Sellar (There Will Be Blood, Boogie Nights, Magnolia), award-winning director Donald Petrie (Miss Congeniality, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, Grumpy Old Men, Mystic Pizza), Hollywood producer Cathleen Summers (The Sandlot, Stakeout, Another Stakeout), director and producer Betty Thomas (Dr. Doolittle, Private Parts, Brady Bunch Movie, I Spy), screenwriter and producer Leslie Dixon (Mrs. Doubtfire, Hairspray, Limitless), director and producer Jonathan Sanger (Vanilla Sky, The Elephant Man, The Producers), director Sheldon Epps (Friends, Frasier), producer Michael Phillips (Taxi Driver, Close Encounters of the Third Kind), director Martha Coolidge (Real Genius, Rambling Rose, Valley Girl), and film and TV producer Gary Foster (Daredevil, Sleepless in Seattle, Ghost Rider).