Bri Denbo (JD ’24) and Sandra Aguilar (JD ’24) have been named the recipients of the 2022 Rutan & Tucker Golden Quill award. Presented annually, the award recognizes the top briefs written by first-year students at Chapman University Fowler School of Law in connection with their Legal Analysis, Writing, and Research II course.

Denbo, representing the defendant, and Aguilar, representing the government, researched and briefed a mock federal criminal case involving the Fourth Amendment. A panel of practicing attorneys (all former Golden Quill winners) reviewed the top briefs to select the winners, each of whom will receive a certificate of honor and a $500 award sponsored by Rutan & Tucker, LLP—a Costa Mesa, California-based law firm that also sponsors the law school’s annual Golden Gavel Competition.