At the 2022 Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Annual Meeting, several members of the Chapman University Fowler School of Law’s faculty were elected to join the leadership of their respective AALS sections:

  • Professor Mario Mainero, Executive Director of Bar Preparation and Academic Achievement, was elected chair of the Section on Litigation.
  • Legal Research and Writing Professor Abigail Patthoff was named to the executive committee of the Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.
  • Professor Sarira Sadeghi, the Sam & Ash Director of Academic Achievement, was named to the board of directors of the Section on Academic Support.

Fowler School of Law faculty members already serving in AALS section leadership include Professor Celestine McConville, who was elected in 2021 to a two-year term as secretary of the Section on Federal Courts.

The AALS is a nonprofit association founded in 1900 whose mission is to uphold and advance excellence in legal education. It promotes the core values of excellence in teaching and scholarship, academic freedom, and diversity, while seeking to improve the legal profession, to foster justice, and to serve its many communities. The Fowler School of Law has been a member of the AALS since 2006.