ORANGE, Calif. – Chapman University’s Argyros School of Business and Economics today announced the winner for the 3rd annual “Tomorrow’s Leaders” Scholarship Program. Scott Shaffstall will receive $62,500 toward Chapman’s Flex MBA Program.

Shaffstall, a 2008 graduate of Chapman University with a B.A. degree in English/journalism and a minor in history, is the regional manager of the Motorcycle Industry Council’s East Coast dirt bike and ATV safety training divisions; as well as the coordinator of special communications, website and marketing projects for the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.

When not working at his “day job” Shaffstall is the CEO of Wash-15 Offroad LLC, an off-road motorcycle and all-terrain-vehicle accessory manufacturing and retail enterprise, which he cofounded in 2010. Wash-15 Offroad’s signature product is the Wash-15 Whip Mount for safety flags (also known as “whips”)—a key safety-feature for off-road enthusiasts so they can see one another. Further, Wash-15 Offroad makes it a priority to manufacture its products in Nevada, rather than overseas, to help create more American jobs. More information can be found at

Nine finalists in the Tomorrow’s Leaders Scholarship were also awarded $15,000 each—a feature added this year to the program. They included: Alan Nakamura, Andrew D. Ramirez, Brenda Contreras, Chad Kessler, Jacob Karp, Jamie Gonce, Jeffrey Lyon, Jillian McCord, and Teresa Marquez.

“We are excited to have found such a strong group of finalists for Chapman MBA’s Tomorrow’s Leaders program who are already making an impact on their organizations and their communities,” said Debra Gonda, Interim Assistant Dean, MBA Programs, Argyros School of Business and Economics, Chapman University.  “We are proud to be able to assist them in obtaining their MBA degrees at Chapman so that they can further the excellent work they are doing and become the future leaders of the Orange County business community.”

Submissions for the scholarship were due by April 6; and some 50 applications were received.  Judges from Chapman University reviewed the submissions and selected the finalists and scholarship winner.

The finalists were invited to Chapman University today where the winner was announced. In partnership with OCMetro, this is the third year of the Tomorrow’s Leaders Scholarship Program.  For more information about Chapman’s MBA programs, visit

Consistently ranked among the top universities in the West, Chapman University provides a uniquely personalized and interdisciplinary educational experience to highly qualified students. Our programs encourage innovation, creativity and collaboration, and focus on developing global citizen-leaders who are distinctively prepared to improve their community and their world. For more information visit

Follow us on Facebook at: Chapman University Facebook

On Twitter at: @ChapmanU

On YouTube at: Chapman University YouTube Channel


Log In
Open Main Menu