Dodge films were nominated six times for this year’s 37th Annual College Television Awards, or as they’re better known the Student Emmys. Now that the dust has settled and that the awards were handed out last night in Hollywood, we can now definitively say that Dodge indeed won the day!:

  • Jon Milano and Chris Naughton’s STRAW DOLLS took the top award for Best Drama, an EXTREMELY competitive category beating out AFI and UCLA for First Place.
  • STRAW DOLLS also took a very special juried award, The Bricker Humanitarian Award, a $4000 cash award which is given to a College Television Award winner whose work best highlights a humanitarian concern.
  • Missy Hauser, Skyler Stearns, and Jackson Miller’s GUIDE took another very special award, The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, a $10,000 award which celebrates student storytellers whose work sheds light on people with disabilities. This marks two years in a row that Chapman has won this scholarship, with last year’s award going to Natalie Whalen’s UNSPOKEN
  • Not to be outdone in a more unique category, Dodge also won First Place with Anthony Abaci’s PLAYHOUSE OF CARDS for Best Series – Scripted
  • We’re not finished yet – Nicole Jordan-Webber and Ceylan Carhoglu’s GARDENERS OF THE FOREST won the Second Place prize for Best Documentary
  • Finally, we had TWO winners in the Best Children’s Program with JJ Englert, Colin Laviola, and Gabe Figueroa’s COLD WINTER’S NIGHT taking the Second Place prize and Annie Chapin, Andrew Evers, and Sky Stone’s OPERATION DIVORCE winning the Third Place

On the whole, Dodge’s six films in contention took home a whopping SEVEN awards on the night. A big congratulations is due for the filmmakers and Dodge’s great staff and faculty that helped shepherd these films and filmmakers along.

Check out these articles and listings for more information: