Several faculty members from the Chapman University Fowler School of Law will be participating as speakers and moderators at the 2022 Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Annual Meeting, being held virtually this year from January 5-9. All times noted below are displayed in Eastern Time.

Legal Research and Writing Professor Abigail Patthoff is serving as co-chair of the Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research Program Committee this year, and will be moderating its two panels: “Infusing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion into the Law School Curriculum” on January 5 at 12:35 p.m. and “Contemporary Scholarly Methods and Works‐in‐Progress in Legal Communication” on January 6 at 4:45 p.m.

On January 7 at 11 a.m., Professor James Phillips, the newest member of the Fowler School of Law faculty, will appear on the Law and Religion panel “The Shadow Docket’s Effect on the Religion Clauses.”

Professor Mario Mainero, incoming chair of the AALS Section on Litigation, will moderate a panel discussion on January 8 at 3:10 p.m. titled “Litigation Conduct and Pushing the Envelope: Impact or Abuse?”

And on Jan. 8 at 4:45 p.m., Professor Deepa Badrinarayana will be a speaker on an International Law panel discussing “The Challenges and Opportunities of Teaching International Law Responses to the Climate Change Crisis.”

Held each year in January, the AALS Annual Meeting is the largest gathering of law faculty in the world. The theme of this year’s meeting is “Freedom, Equality, and the Common Good.” The mission of the AALS, which the Fowler School of Law has been a member of since 2006, is to uphold and advance excellence in legal education.

Top image, clockwise from left: Fowler School of Law Professors Deepa Badrinarayana, Mario Mainero, James Phillips, and Abigail Patthoff.