Associate Dean of Student Affairs, Lawrence “LB” BrownBesides being named the first Pharmaceutical School in Orange County, Chapman University School of Pharmacy (CUSP) has many things to be proud of. On March 30, 2015, the American Pharmacist Association (APhA) welcomed Lawrence “LB” Brown, PharmD, Ph.D., FAPhA, associate dean of student affairs for CUSP as the next president of APhA.

As the largest association of Pharmacists in the United States, the American Pharmacist Association represents more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and many others who work in the field. With exceptional faculty like Dr. Brown as Professor of Pharmacoeconomics and Health Policy at CUSP and now APhA president, students can be confident in the education they are getting at Chapman University.

“We couldn’t be prouder of LB serving as president of the prestigious American Pharmacists Association,” said Daniele Struppa, Ph.D., chancellor of Chapman University. “His experience and background will lend tremendous leadership to the association and its members, in addition to his role in helping to found the first School of Pharmacy in Orange County here at Chapman.”

Dr. Brown has a long standing involvement with APhA. A delegate for the past 15 years, his former offices include APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists (ASP) chapter president, speaker of the house of delegates for APhA and APhA-ASP, APhA trustee, national president of the Kappa Psi International Pharmaceutical Fraternity, and UTHSC faculty senate president. Dr. Brown was awarded the title Pharmacy Student of the Year by the California Pharmacists Association, with his international contributions awarding him the “Medallion of the Association” award from the Hungarian Private Pharmacists Association.  He is a member of the Kappa Psi, Phi Lambda Sigma and Rho Chi pharmacy leadership and honorary. He has also served as marketing consultant for community pharmacy MTM (medication therapy management) providers and as co-chair of the Quality Metrics Workgroup for the Pharmacy Quality Alliance.


Read more on Chapman’s Press Room by Sheri Ledbetter.