From the Editor: This spring, The Caucus for Producers, Writers, Directors awarded three of five grants to Chapman filmmakers: Amanda Renee Knox’17 (dir. Night Call) and Paul Mowry’17 (writ./dir. Marty and Stacy’s Pixelated Dream Show) received grants on behalf of the Annenberg Foundation, and Ashton Avila’17 (writ./dir. I Got You Babe) received one of The Caucus Foundation Grants. Below is the official release from the Caucus. Congratulations to all of the recipients!

Beverly Hills, CA — The Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors Foundation is bestowing grants to student filmmakers. The Caucus Foundation’s Board Member Herman Rush, along with Lee Miller, President, and Co-Founders Chuck Fries and Jerry Isenberg recently awarded to five student filmmakers, a total amount of $19,000 this year and a grand total of $ 1,620,805 since the founding of The Caucus Foundation.

The first two students grant recipients were on behalf of the Annenberg Foundation recent endowment to The Caucus Foundation. Both grant recipients are from Chapman University; Amanda Renee Knox, for directing, Night Call and Paul Mowry, for writing and directing, Marty and Stacy’s Pixelated Dream Show. Receiving The Caucus Foundation Grants are, Ashton Avila, Chapman University for writing and directing, I Got You Babe, UCLA’s Annie Pace for directing, Beyond the Gate and Rachel Del Giudice, Columbia University for producing, writing and directing, The Good Neighbor.

The Caucus Foundation, cofounded by Chuck Fries and Jerry Isenberg in 2000, is a charitable organization that provides men and women of diverse racial and national backgrounds with a range of services, including awarding grants that defray the costs of completing their student (undergraduate and graduate) thesis films, securing in-kind contributions for their future projects, offering an intensive mentoring service by industry professionals who are also Caucus Foundation members, and providing industry-related internships for student filmmakers.

The Caucus Foundation recognizes its responsibility to take appropriate action to promote diversity behind the camera in our industry. The Caucus Foundation looks to the accredited film, television and new media programs at universities and colleges as the future source of talented directors, writers and producers.

Among The Caucus Foundation members are Chuck Fries, Tanya Hart, Bob Papazian, Lee Miller, Dennis Doty, Vin Di Bona, Syd Vinnedge, Jake Rademacher, Gary Grossman and Michelle Nasraway.

You can read the release on The Caucus’ website here.