Twenty eight students from Chapman University Dale E. Fowler School of Law were honored at the law school’s third annual Scholarship and Award Luncheon last Friday, April 30. The event not only provided an opportunity for the university to honor its scholarship and award recipients but also allowed students to meet the generous donors of their respective awards.

The 2014-2015 Tax Law Honors Scholarship was awarded to Vincent Gonzalez (JD ‘15), Nicole Kahn (JD ‘15) and Jacob Shin (JD ‘16).
Through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Bechtel, the law school presents the Bechtel Tax Law Honors Scholarship award each year, the first private scholarship offered by the law school. This cash grant is awarded to Tax Law Emphasis students who demonstrate academic excellence and have made significant contributions to the tax law program at Fowler School of Law.


Wendy Chan (JD ‘17), Vanessa Corona (JD ‘17), Aaron Short (JD ‘17), Sayuri Espinosa (JD ‘17), Philip Ye (JD ‘17), Lindsey Auerbach (JD ‘16), Melissa Frisco (JD ‘16), Lorin Herzfeldt (JD ‘16), Kyle Hindin (JD ‘16) and Andrew Still (JD ‘16) received the Bergener & Associates Scholarship.
Bergener & Associates Scholarships are awarded annually to incoming first year students who have worked full time for at least one year (preferably in a legal setting) prior to entering law school and demonstrated that they have acquired work skills and obtained competencies through real-world experiences.
Bergener & Associates
is a California personal injury law firm that actively seeks lawyers who possess its brand of dedication to the law and client service. Last fall, the firm
doubled the scholarship program
, providing a second year of scholarships to each of the prior year’s recipients.

The M. Katherine Baird Darmer Memorial Scholarship was awarded to
Parisah Robinson (JD ’15).
M. Katherine Baird Darmer Memorial Scholarship fund
provides financial support to Fowler School of Law students who plan to use their degree to promote human rights and public interest law, and show commitment to gender equality issues. The scholarship honors the life and work of Professor M. Katherine Baird Darmer, a beloved teacher and colleague at the Chapman University Dale E. Fowler School of Law who passed away in 2012.


Anna Caludac (JD ‘16), April Cristal (JD ‘16) and Janelle Wilke (JD ‘15) were awarded the Holly Frost Memorial Scholarship.
This award is designed to support students who emulate the ethic of giving to others and believe in the highest principles in the legal profession.

Amanda Herman (JD ‘15), Jade McKenzie (JD ‘16) and Jaymie Parkkinen (JD ‘17) were awarded as Kennedy Scholars.
This award was established in the name of the late Donald P. Kennedy, former chairman of First American Financial Corporation.

The Lee Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Janelle Wilke (JD ‘15).
The Lee Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate a financial need in order to pursue the study of law. It is based on need and academic standing, and priority is given to students who demonstrate an interest in working in areas of public interest.

Victor Bachand (JD ‘16) received the CAL-ABOTA Marjorie W. Day Memorial Scholarship.
This year’s award was given to a litigation student who demonstrated excellence in writing an essay on the question of assumption of risk.


Rutan & Tucker, LLP supports the Fowler School of Law Legal Research and Writing Program, which includes the Golden Gavel and the Golden Quill awards.
The 2015 Rutan & Tucker Golden Gavel award recipients were

Kathryn Harrold (JD ‘17) and Gabrielle LaCarre (JD ‘17).
The Golden Gavel award is given annually to students who are selected as the “Best Oralists” for the plaintiff and the defendant in the first year students’ Oral Argument Competition.
The 2014 Rutan & Tucker Golden Quill award recipients were
Jade McKenzie (JD ‘16) and Steven Pham (JD ‘16).
The Golden Quill Award is presented annually to students whose briefs are selected as the “Top Briefs” for the plaintiff and the defendant in the first year students’ Legal Research and Writing Competition.
Rutan & Tucker, LLP
has sponsored the Golden Quill and Golden Gavel awards since 2006. Said Rutan & Tucker partner Layne Melzer, “We continue to be incredibly impressed with the skill and talent of the Chapman students.”

Charles Henninger (JD ‘16), Jade McKenzie (JD ‘16), Brooke Romero (JD ‘16) and Brandon Yeaton (JD ‘16) received the Stallworth Endowed Scholarship.
Dr. William Stallworth was a founding faculty member of the Chapman University School of Law. As a Contracts professor, he relished working with students who excelled in these important courses. When he retired, Dr. Stallworth gave $50,000 for this endowment. The purpose of the fund is to award scholarships to Fowler School of Law students who excel in Contracts.

The Parham H. Williams Endowed Scholarship for Public Interest was awarded to Jennifer Tran (JD ‘15).
This scholarship is awarded to graduating law students with a strong academic background, who demonstrate commitment to public interest endeavors and plan to become public interest practitioners.

Notable achievements include Jade McKenzie, who was honored for three awards—Kennedy Scholars, the Stallworth Endowed Scholarship and the 2014 Rutan & Tucker Golden Quill—and Janelle Wilke who received two—the Lee Memorial Scholarship and the Holly Frost Memorial Scholarship.

Congratulations to all of our Fowler School of Law students on their hard work this year!

Learn more about available scholarships

Click here
to see a slideshow of the Scholarship and Award Luncheon.