The last month of 2022 brought on significant accomplishments to an already remarkable year for the Chapman University School of Pharmacy. In December, both students and faculty represented at the largest gathering of pharmacy professionals in the world, Dr. Amy Kang was named an ACCP Junior Investigator, and CUSP researchers authored articles on diverse topics ranging from heart disease, epigenetic disorders, and experiments testing multidrug-resistant pathogens.


Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice Dr. Amy Kang received an American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Junior Investigator grant, an honor that is bestowed to clinical pharmacy’s most promising early-career contributors to the future of clinical research.  Her award totals $50,000 to perform an observational study titled “Assessment of Antibiotic Transition Errors from Hospitals to Skilled Nursing Facilities.” Dr. Amy Kang will serve as a PI for this investigation.


  • Dr. Sherry Wang co-authored a book entry observing how the future of medical professional interprofessional collaborations and communications, namely through telehealth related to cerebrovascular disease management, can help solve an increasing global problem of healthcare worker shortages experienced in most countries.
  • Dr. Innokentiy “Inno” Maslennikov, Dr. Keykavous Parang, and Dr. Sandeep Lohan planned, designed, and conducted the experiments that identified 12-mer antimicrobial peptides that are more sympathetic to multi-drug resistant strains of pathogens.
  • Dr. Ajay Sharma and Dr. Judy Weng authored pages 311-325 featured in the new text, Epigenetics in Organ Specific Disorders, regarding epigenetic disorders in the anterior segment of the eyes.


  • Oral (e.g., Platform Presentations, Symposiums, Plenaries, Keynotes)
    • Dr. Neeloufar Fakourfar spoke at UC San Diego’s Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences as an alumna of their program, where she discussed balancing life as a PharmD candidate as part of the school’s P4 Wellness Event series.
    • Dr. Jerika Lam co-presented “PrEParing for a New Kind of HIV Prevention” as an expert faculty at the ASHP Midyear Conference, where she discussed new ideas and findings related to Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis.
  • Posters
    • Dr. Viet-Huong Nguyen and PharmD candidate Eileen Hsiao presented their poster “Quality of Transitions of Care Communication for Patients with Non-Cardioembolic Stroke Transferred to Long-Term Acute Care”, an abstract shown at the ASHP Midyear Meeting.
    • Dr. Moom Roosan, and PharmD candidates Megan Shieh and Tiffany Nguyen presented their poster “Pharmacogenomics interactions of drugs used for Alzheimer’s Disease” at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting.