Dean Jerry Price announces the Campus Leadership Awards in its first-ever virtual ceremony.

To cap off the spring 2020 semester, the Office of Student Engagement held an extraordinary version of the annual Campus Leadership Awards.

Over the course of an hour, the @lifeatcu Instagram account built suspense by slowly releasing videos of Dean of Students Jerry Price revealing the award recipients. It had members of the entire Chapman Instagram community waiting intently, and constantly refreshing their feeds. Wilkinson College had numerous moments for celebration, including the announcement that Alexander Ballard had won the coveted Cheverton Award. 

The Annual Campus Leadership Awards celebrate students across the university from all majors who have excelled in their academics and extracurriculars over the past year. The ceremony announces a series of recognitions, including scholarships and class awards, which culminate in the Cheverton Award. This year, Wilkinson students won a large number of awards. Look below for a full list of Wilkinson student recipients:


Cecil F. Cheverton Award –

Alexander Ballard (’20, History/ Political Science/ Economics)

The Cecil F. Cheverton Award is awarded annually to an outstanding graduating senior by a vote of the full faculty and is the highest undergraduate honor at Chapman University.

Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award –

Jacqueline Dang (’20, Peace Studies/ Screenwriting/ Africana Studies Minor)

The Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award is presented to a graduating senior who has shown exemplary promotion of social justice, multicultural, and diversity initiatives through their work in the community during their college career.

Paul S. Delp Award –

Danielle Espiritu (’20, Political Science)

The Paul S. Delp Award is presented to a graduating senior judged to have made the greatest contribution through voluntary service to the community at large.


Award Finalists:

Avery Claire Bennett (’20, Peace Studies/Spanish Minor) – Paul S. Delp Outstanding Service Award and Peterson Award for Outstanding Leadership

Danielle Espiritu (’20, Political Science) – Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award

Lou Marshall (’20, History/ Political Science minor) – Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award

Corrine Tam (’20, Sociology) – Huntington Award for Outstanding Scholarship

Ethan Vieira (’20, Sociology minor) – Peterson Award for Outstanding Leadership


Outstanding Seniors (’20):

Muhammad Ali Karkoutli (Political Science)

Avery Claire Bennett (Peace Studies/ Spanish minor)

Abbigael Eli (Rhetoric & Composition Studies minor)

Summer Khatib (Philosophy/ Sociology)

Lou Marshall (History/ Political Science minor)

Olivia Mello (Political Science minor)

Corinne Tam (Sociology/ Women’s Studies minor)

Tiffany Vallejo (Political Science minor)

Ethan Vieira (Sociology minor)

Nicole Williams (Spanish minor)


Outstanding Juniors (’21):

Brandon Fabre (Political Science/ Holocaust History minor)

Javari Hunt (Anthroplogy minor)

Edena Khoshaba (Rhetoric & Writing Studies minor)

Leo Ortega (Political Science/ Law, Justice & Social Control minor)

Amber Osorno (Justice & Social Control minor)

Karmen Pantoja (Peace Studies/ Political Science)


Outstanding Sophomores (’22):

Isabelle Garcia (LGBTQ minor/ Latinx & Latin American Studies minor)

Philip Goodrich (History/ Political Science)

Stephanie Munduruca (Peace Studies minor)

Ramya Sinha (Sociology minor)


Outstanding First-Years (’23):

Emma Drake (Spanish/ Peace Studies minor)

Aaron Gutierrez (Spanish minor)

Nikki Kalhori (Political Science)

Carter Kane (Spanish minor)

Anika Manuel (Peace Studies/ Political Science/ Philosophy minor)

Sarah Wilson (English/ Literature, Rhetoric & Cultural Studies)


Cohen Greek Leadership Scholarship –

Karmen Pantoja (’21, Peace Studies/ Political Science)


Dougherty Scholarship –

Lucile Henderson (’21, Women’s Studies minor/ Art minor)


Newman Civic Fellow Scholarship –

Adelin Tiburcio (’21, Spanish minor/ Latinx & Latin American Studies minor)


Goldwater Scholarship –

Edena Khoshaba (’21, Rhetoric & Writing Studies Minor)


We are so proud of all of the work that our Wilkinson students have done over the past year, even with challenging circumstances. Congrats to all our recipients!