On May 3, 2019, Dean of Students Jerry Price, Ph.D. and his office held the 2019 Campus Leadership Awards, to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of our students and organizations within the Chapman community. Schmid College students received the highest honors, including the Paul S. Delp Award, the Ronald M. Huntington Award and the Cecil F. Cheverton Award.

Cecil F. Cheverton Award Winner Vidal Arroyo

The Cheverton Award is Chapman University’s highest undergraduate student honor. Students are nominated for the award and invited to apply by faculty based on their outstanding academic record. This award has been given out to an outstanding graduating senior since 1929. The original bronze Cheverton Award cup remains on exhibit in Argyros Forum along with its successor, a silver bowl.

This year’s recipient is Chapman’s first Rhodes Scholar, Vidal Arroyo. As a biochemistry and molecular biology major with a minor in Computational Science, Vidal has maintained a perfect GPA. Through opportunities at Baylor University and shadowing physicians at CHOC, he has researched the link between cancer and obesity, as well as outcome disparities among survivors of childhood cancer.  As the Founder and President of Chapman STEMtors, he has worked to expose at-risk youth to careers in science and has supported his classmates as a Peer Advisor for biochemistry and a Supplemental Instructor for chemistry. He has won several awards including a scholarship from the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Outstanding Oral Presentation Award at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for minority students in 2017. 

Vidal will head to the University of Oxford in the fall to conduct statistical genetics research for two years before pursuing his M.D./Ph.D. 


Ronald M. Huntington Award for Outstanding Scholarship Winner Daniel Chang

The Ronald M. Huntington Award is presented to the graduating senior judged to have exhibited the most distinguished record of scholarly accomplishments while a student at Chapman University. The student must also demonstrate evidence of exemplary scholarship well beyond normal classroom activities.

Chemistry major and computational science minor, Daniel Chang, was this year’s recipient. As a freshman, two months after starting his first day at Chapman, Daniel began research in Dr. de Bruyn’s analytical chemistry research laboratory, which led him to serve as Dr. de Bruyn’s laboratory manager.  In addition to working in Dr. de Bruyn’s laboratory, he has worked in five other research laboratories on campus, has one peer-reviewed publication published thus far with others in preparation, was awarded four research grants, as well as presented at a national American Chemical Society meeting. Daniel is a leader on campus, serving as a Peer Advisor for the Chemistry Program, a Student Scholar Ambassador for the Center for Undergraduate Excellence, and a member of the Schmid Student Leadership Council for Schmid College. One of his nominators wrote, “Despite his academic success, Daniel is extremely humble and cares deeply about the success of his classmates. Whenever another student struggled in the course, Daniel would reach out to help, going over the problem with them and explaining the concepts. The other students looked up to Daniel with admiration and welcomed his advice. Daniel is the rare student that encompasses genius, compassion, and humility all in one.”

Daniel will go on to work in Dr. Liberman-Martin’s Organic Methods Research Lab while applying to Ph.D. programs in Organic Chemistry. 


Paul S. Delp Outstanding Service Award Winner Alejandra Solis

The Paul S. Delp Outstanding Service Award recognizes a graduating senior who has made the greatest contribution of voluntary service to the Chapman community and the community at large. The student must demonstrate a substantial commitment to a life of service as evidenced by documented activities which significantly benefit the greater good and serve as models to others.

Awarded the Delp Outstanding Service Award this year is biochemistry and molecular biology major and economics minor, Alejandra Solis. Throughout her four years at Chapman, Alejandra has held many leadership positions in several student organizations, such as Alpha Gamma Delta, Tri Beta, Schmid College Student Leadership Council, Women in Science and Technology, Global Medical Brigades, American Chemical Society and COPE Health Solutions. She has served as an Orientation Assistant for first-year students and a Rho Gamma Counselor for sorority recruitment. In addition to her involvements, she has done undergraduate student research in Dr. Bisoffi’s Molecular Genetics Research Laboratory researching alternative treatments for prostate cancer and worked as an office assistant for the Office of Residence Life.  

Alejandra plans to work as a medical scribe and hopes to attend medical school. 


Outstanding Leaders in Each Class

The Chapman Outstanding Leadership Awards are given to outstanding leaders in each class for their leadership and dedicated service to the quality of life and campus community programs at Chapman University. Undergraduates from across Schmid College were recognized. 

Outstanding Senior Award Winners

  • Alejandra Cortes Luna – Mathematics major. Following graduation, Alejandra plans to take some time to travel.
  • Catherine Domingo – Biological Sciences major. Catherine is headed to Maryland to work on cancer research at the National Institute of Health while applying to medical school. 
  • Emily Cauble – Biological Sciences major, English minor. Emily plans to take a gap year while applying to medical school.
  • Jenny Gritton – Environmental Science and Policy major, Psychology minor. Following graduation Jenny is moving to Denver, CO to begin a full-time position in plant records curation and mapping with the Denver Botanic Gardens. In a few years, she plans to pursue a master’s degree related to urban planning and sustainable design.
  • Lauren Elizabeth Friend – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology major, Philosophy minor. Lauren will attend Columbia University to pursue her Master’s in Biomedical Engineering, and continue her NASA Pathways Internship for engineering bio-test devices on the ISS

Outstanding Junior Award Winners

  • Crosby Tinucci – Biological Sciences and Spanish double major, Environmental Science minor. 
  • Chloe Garcia – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology major, Business Administration minor.
  • Faith Holloway – Biological Sciences major, Business Administration minor.

Outstanding Sophomore Award Winners

  • Ashley Nichols – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology major.
  • Brandon Fabré – Data Analytics major, Leadership minor. 
  • Maddie Milla – Environmental Science and Policy major, Leadership minor.

Outstanding First Year Award Winner

  • Scott Cummings – Computer Science major, Game Development Programming minor. 


Outstanding Off Campus Impact Awarded to Chapman STEMtors

This award is given to a student organization that has had a noticeable impact on the local, national, and international community beyond Chapman. 

Chapman STEMtors is a student organization that is passionate about undergraduate and youth mentorship in the sciences. The group was created to foster an organization dedicated to peer-peer support and mentorship in the scientific community. The group’s mentorship model is currently focused on the Chapman undergraduate community and local Orange County youth. Founder and President is Cheverton Award winner and Chapman’s First Rhodes Scholar, Vidal Arroyo. 


We are so proud of our Schmid students! Congratulations to all who were recognized at the 2019 Campus Leadership Awards! See the full list of winners here.