On May 15, 2020, Dean of Students Jerry Price, Ph.D. held the 2020 Campus Leadership Awards to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of our Chapman students. This year due to the stay-at-home order, Dean Price presented the awards virtually from his home. He recorded and uploaded the videos to the @LifeatCU Instagram account. You can view the videos here. 

senior Faith HollowayRonald M. Huntington Award for Outstanding Scholarship Winner Faith Holloway

The Ronald M. Huntington Award is presented to the graduating senior judged to have exhibited the most distinguished record of scholarly accomplishments while a student at Chapman University. The student must also demonstrate evidence of exemplary scholarship well beyond normal classroom activities.

Awarded the Huntington Outstanding Scholarship Award this year is biological sciences major, Faith Holloway. 

Faith has displayed exceptional leadership and a passion for learning throughout her time at Chapman University. She has maintained a cumulative 4.000 GPA with the rigorous coursework of a biological sciences student and the time constraints of a student-athlete. Faith has been captain of the women’s soccer team for the past two seasons and has been named Academic All-American twice. 

For the past two years, Faith has been working with Dr. Patricia Lopes to study gene expression in specific brain regions of mice and Japanese quail using qPCR and immunohistochemistry. She received a scholarly grant to present her research at The Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology’s annual conference in January 2020. 

Outside of her academics, Faith was an active member of the Schmid College Student Leadership Council and served as a liaison for the Center for Undergraduate Excellence as a Student Scholar Ambassador. Faith was also responsible for hosting chapter-wide events as Brotherhood Committee Chair for the professional business fraternity Alpha Kappa Psi. 

Faith currently works in research and development at Zymo Research Corporation. She intends to keep working in the biotech industry for the majority of her career, and one day go into project management and consulting. She was recently accepted into the Master of Business and Science program at Keck Graduate Institute in Claremont, CA.  

Outstanding Leaders in Each Class

The Chapman Outstanding Leadership Awards are given to outstanding leaders in each class for their leadership and dedicated service to the quality of life and campus community programs at Chapman University. Undergraduates from across Schmid College were recognized. 

Outstanding Seniors Award Winners

  • Kiersten Chong – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology major, Business Administration minor. In the fall, Kiersten will begin medical school at the University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine. 
  • Abbigael Eli – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology major, Rhetoric and Writing Studies minor. Abbigael plans to seek employment as a lab technician or research associate. She is also planning to pursue her doctorate in Cancer Biology or Molecular and Cellular Biology. 
  • Nico Scordakis – Biological Sciences major, Entrepreneurship minor. Nico will be attending dental school at the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry at the University of the Pacific.
  • Jacy Sera – Environmental Science & Policy major, Minor in Economics and Nutrition. Jacy would like to teach English abroad for a couple years and then attend graduate school to pursue a career in corporate sustainability or higher education. 
  • Tiffany Vallejo – Chemistry major, Political Science minor. Tiffany is planning to take a year to volunteer in different organizations to help vulnerable communities in her home country of Honduras. She hopes to one day pursue a career in Environmental Chemistry and/or Public Affairs.
  • Lindsay Zumwalt – Biological Sciences major, Health Sciences minor. Lindsay plans to pursue medical school. 

Outstanding Juniors Award Winners

  • Edena Khoshaba – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology major
  • Maddie Milla – Environmental Science & Policy major, Leadership minor
  • Ashley Nichols – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology major
  • Sanika Pandit – Biological Sciences and Computer Science major

Outstanding Sophomores Award Winners

  • Abby Bechtel – Physics and Computer Science major. 
  • Ashley Okhovat – Biological Sciences major, Leadership minor. 

Dean Price recognized students who received notable scholarships. He highlighted biochemistry and molecular biology major Edena Khoshaba ’21 for being Chapman University’s first-ever Goldwater Scholar. You can read more about Edena and the award she received here

We also want to recognize Vanessa Burns ’20, Faith Holloway ’20, and Riley Kendal ’20, who were Cecil F. Cheverton Award Finalists. The Cheverton Award is Chapman University’s highest undergraduate student honor, and it is an accomplishment to be nominated. 

We are so proud of our Schmid students! Congratulations to all who were recognized at the 2020 Campus Leadership Awards!