Man smiling.

Dr. Brian Alter, Professor has been chosen to receive the 2015-2017 Outstanding Teaching Senior Professorship Award by the Faculty Research and Development Council and the Chancellor’s Office. The award was presented to Dr. Alters at this year’s Faculty Honors Convocation on Friday, May 15, 2015.   The award comes with a $10,000 honorarium, (to be awarded over two years – $5,000 in the first year and the remaining $5,000 in the second), and in addition, Dr. Alter’s name will be placed on a plaque exhibited in the Doy and Dee Henley Reading Room of the Leatherby Libraries. Dr. Alters is also the Director of the Evolution Education Research Center housed in the CES and President of the National Center for Science Education (NCSE).

The Outstanding Teaching Senior Professorship Award is one of the highest recognitions given to a faculty member to honor exceptional merit in teaching.

Woman smiling.
Making it a clean sweep for the College of Educational Studies, Dr. Michelle Samura, Assistant Professor, was chosen to receive the 2015-2017 Outstanding Teaching Junior Professorship Award. In winning her award, Dr. Samura had her file reviewed by the FRDC for her outstanding peer and student evaluations, commitment to undergraduate research and creative course syllabi within the Integrated Educational Studies program. The award comes with a $7,500 honorarium over two years. Dr. Samura is the Coordinator of Student and Community Engagement within the Donna Ford Attallah Educator Development Academy.


Expressions from Don Cardinal:

We were all cultured to believe bragging is never a good thing.  But sometimes one must just state the facts!

The highest awards in teaching  by Chapman University are the Outstanding Teaching Awards.

Is it nothing new for a CES faculty member to win one of these. But to win both, in the same year, WOW! SWEEP!

Please join me in congratulating Brian and Michelle on this amazing accomplishment!

You make us so proud.

It is with great pleasure that the Faculty Research and Development Council, the Chancellor’s Office and the College of Educational Studies congratulates you both on being the recipient of the Outstanding Teaching Senior and Junior Professorship Awards.