On Thursday, May 7, the Chancellor’s Office through the Office of Research & Sponsored Programs recognized faculty who have received external financial support for their work.  The event honored five faculty members in particular who showed tremendous creative activity within their specific fields—three of whom were affiliated with Schmid College .

The bestowed grants will be used for a vast array of purposes, all of which will bolster the educational experience of the student body.

Dr. Janeen Hill, founding Dean of Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences and former dean of Schmid College, was inducted into the ‘Million Dollar Club,’ which honors faculty members who have received one million dollars in external funding while at Chapman. Dr. Hill worked tenaciously to establish a relationship with the W. M. Keck Foundation during her time as Dean of Schmid College. The foundation awarded her a grant for new chemistry and biochemistry instruments and curriculum modifications for the coming Center for Science and Technology.

Hill said, “The whole point is to transform learning outcomes. [Chemistry and Biochemistry] have such instrument-driven curricula. For every year new instruments are brought in, students will be able to get into more graduate schools and become more employable.”

Cheese, wine, beer, meatballs, coconut shrimp, bacon-wrapped scallops and more!

Cheese, wine, beer, meatballs, coconut shrimp, bacon-wrapped scallops and more!

Other Schmid College faculty honorees included Frank Frisch and Marco Bisoffi.

Bisoffi was awarded $103,500 by the Department of Defense to fund research for prostate cancer. He was not able to attend the event as he was (aptly) away on research.

Frisch, who holds a joint appointment with Schmid College, received the honor for developing a partnership with the Anaheim Unified School District. 52 high school science teachers participate and learn from on campus biology, computer science, physics and food science programs.

“Part of Chapman University’s mission is to help make the student a global citizen. Being a global citizen means also being integrated in the local community,” said Yolanda Uzzel, Director of Research & Sponsored Programs Administrations and one of the hosts of the event.

Frisch’s acceptance speech was short and sweet.

“I’d like to say thank you very much,” he said with a grin.

Other honorees include Kris De Pedro (CES), Miao Zhang (CUSP), Surya Nauli (CUSP), Justin Walsh (Wilkinson), Julia Boehm (Crean), Mark Axelrod (Wilkinson) and Jan Osborne (Wilkinson).